Skip navigation
Close All Milwaukee Public Library Locations Closed...

Friday, April 14 and Sunday, April 16 for the Easter Holiday. All libraries open Saturday, April 15.

Milwaukee Public Library Hours & Locations

Close

Library Board

Library Board

Governance

The Milwaukee Public Library is a department of the City of Milwaukee, like the Health Department or the Fire Department. The City Librarian, who is the department head, is appointed by the Mayor and sits on the Mayor's cabinet. "The general management, regulation and control of the library shall be vested in a Board of Trustees...," reads the bylaws of the Board. There are 12 members of the Board of Trustees. 

Schedule of Meetings - 4:30 p.m.

All meetings at Central Library, First Floor Meeting Room unless otherwise noted. 

2017
Tuesday, January 24
Tuesday, March 28
Tuesday, April 25
Tuesday, May 23 - Bay View Branch Library Meeting Room
Tuesday, June 27
Tuesday, July 25
Tuesday, September 26 - Mitchell Street library Meeting Room
Tuesday, October 24
Tuesday, November 28

Minutes/Agendas

2017 Board Roster | Committee Assignments | Meeting Schedules Bylaws