Skip navigation
Close All Milwaukee Public Library Locations Closed...

Sunday, Dec. 15, Sunday, Dec. 22, Tuesday, Dec. 24, and Wednesday, Dec. 25 for Christmas. Sunday, Dec. 29, Tuesday, Dec. 31, and Wednesday, Jan. 1, 2020 for New Year's.

Milwaukee Public Library Hours & Locations Close

Now@MPL

See it before it's gone: In My Shoes @ Central Library

By Jennifer P on Apr 23, 2015 8:44 AM

Rosecrance, one of the country's leading teen substance abuse treatment centers, launched a traveling art exhibit to help parents understand teens' points of view about pressures they encounter and how they are faced with the potential to use, and abuse, substances. Developed by teen patients participating in an art therapy program, "In My Shoes" encourages parents to understand their teen's point of view and actively parent to help teens navigate today's confusing environment. From shoe selection to showcase, the process of creating shoe art is a meaningful experience for these teens in that each shoe is unique and visually tells the teen's story about addiction, recovery, and the teens' hopes and dreams for the future. The shoes also symbolize the steps that these teens have taken to overcome substance use and move forward with living happy and healthy lives.

WHERE: Shoenleber Reading Room, Central Library, 814 W. Wisconsin Ave
WHEN: Thursday, April 23 and Friday, April 24 from 9:00am to 6:00pm; Saturday April 25 from 9:00am to 5:00pm; Sunday April 26 from 1:00pm to 5:00pm



Add a Comment